top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

A Private Place

I took this picture on the first day I was in Assisi. I wrote a post a while ago talking about a later part of my walk, but I took this toward the beginning. I left with just my phone, journal, and map, with the intention of walking around, maybe finding a nice spot to sit and write for a while, and make a loose loop around the town since it wasn't that big.

This was a secluded spot along the left wall in relation to the place I entered. Something drew me inside, although there was some kind of construction happening behind one of the walls. I went and sat down on one of the ledges and wrote for a while. On the opposite wall to the construction there was a small dark passage that was too high for me to see without standing on the ledge. I wanted nothing more than to poke my head into it, or even crawl in, but I held back.

To be honest, I regret at least not looking inside. I was tortured the entire trip by every rope, railing, gate, and guard. It showed me just how badly I wanted historical clearance so I could explore. This was one time where I could scratch that itch to explore with there being little risk involved. Even still, while writing this, I burn with curiosity to know what was up there. There's a huge chance it was nothing, but the fact that I could have known and don't bothers me. Good thing I know right where it was, so if I ever go back I can bask in the nostalgia.

If you could gain access to one historical place legally, what would it be? I'm honestly not sure of my answer. A high one on that list would be the tunnels underneath the Colosseum.


Adventure on and don't forget to always be yourself!

Leah Miller

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page