top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

The Colosseum

In all my creativity, names are not my strong suit, as you might have figured out by now. At least you can easily know what this post is about! The Colosseum.

I personally found myself more fascinated by the Roman Forum than the Colosseum, because there's more to see there. However, that does not take away from the fact that the structure is fascinating to see, let alone walk around in. Both times I've been there it's been busy, tourists walking around taking pictures and pointing. A few people, like me, would lean on the stone railing and gaze out at the center. There is always an archeological dig in process uncovering new layers and new mechanics that made the Colosseum function the way it did.

I have always given the most credit to the ancient people for the technology they had, but the Colosseum blows my mind every time. Not only is the structure just massive, the mechanics they used were insane. If I remember correctly, I think we have enough archeological evidence to confirm they at least once flooded the structure and held navy battles. Such a thought is difficult for me to imagine, and yet, it just proves once again how advanced the Roman people were.

Let me know in the comments if you've ever been to the Colosseum before and if so, what did you think?


Adventure on and don't forget to always be yourself!

Leah Miller

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page