top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

A Memoir about Glass Bottles

Something I fell in love with about Italy is that the quality and culture of everything seemed so much higher than in the United States. Realistically, it isn't so much about whether there is quality or not, but of where the quality is placed. Nonetheless, I jived with the Italian way of life.

The first thing I noticed is everything seemed to be in glass bottles. This obviously depended on where you went, but it was details in the little things. Water and wine at dinner would be brought to you in fancy glass bottles. Even Fanta (a personal favorite drink of mine to get in Italy) often came in glass. The tables would have quality silverware and cloth napkins.

I felt fancier in the process, but it also felt better for the environment. I am not super involved with environmental science and sustainability at this point in my life, but I do think it's important. There were also often public drinking fountains where people could fill up water bottles. Now, water cost money when you went to restaurants, but the fountains' existence fascinated me. The water was delicious in the places I went and it prevented me from having to constantly buy new water bottles. We walked 10-15 miles a day the first time I went to Italy for two weeks, so water was a must.

I have only been to a couple places in Italy, so it might differ in other areas of the country, but I still adored the lifestyle. People had pride in their country without it feeling nationalistic, and the culture was not just visible but tangible. I desperately want to return and learn more about that beautiful country. Have you been anywhere that uses glass bottles? What is one of your favorite places you've been?


Adventure on and don't forget to be yourself!

Leah Miller



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page