top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

Baths of Caracalla: Part 2

Last time I talked about my initial reaction to the bathhouses and what they would have been used for, but not so much about the remnants of decorations.

The rooms would have been filled with complex, beautiful mosaics, most of which have not survived the test of time. The floors would have also been tiled, and some remnants of the pathways still remain.

I found these decorations to be beautiful, and admittedly, it does make me wish I had picked up a pair of the goggles. To see a recreation of all the walls with these mosaics would have been something out of a novel. It's beauty would have been breathtaking.

The walls were already thick, but the fallen mosaic fragments would have added a foot even to that. It's no wonder why the larger structures remain over 2000 years later.

While walking around, I saw someone working on restoring a wall. I stood and watching him for probably around 10 minutes. I don't remember exactly how he was going about it, but I was fascinated. When I was younger, I wanted to be a paleontologist because I couldn't wrap my mind around the existence of dinosaurs. That eventually turned into a desire to be an archeologist, maintaining that same wonder and disbelief for the beautiful ancient structures. For a while I dabbled with the idea of restoration and preservation, but decided I wouldn't have the patience nor skill in science to thrive in those careers. That doesn't mean I am not still fascinated to watch the process.

I applaud that man for working to restore the many individual stones that make up the mosaics. It was a hot day, and he was on scaffolding tending to a wall. We will never see the bathhouse in its glory day, but restoring what we can helps us learn more about the Roman people, and for that, I am eternally grateful.

If you could see one ancient structure in its prime, which would you choose? Mine would be the Library of Alexandria. Let me know in the comments!


Adventure on and don't forget to be yourself !

Leah Miller

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Destructor 0010
Destructor 0010
May 25, 2021

I would want to see all of Greece in its glory. Closely behind that would be Egypt. I've always been fascinated with Greek/Roman and Egyptian Mythology, so to see these cities in their prime, worshipping the Gods, would be a dream come true.

Like
bottom of page