top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

Bridge to Another World

Florence is a beautiful city filled with rich renaissance, political, and religious history. The class I went to Italy with was titled "Popes, Saints, and Sinners, Renaissance Christianity." we went in a lot of churches and museums, but we also had a lot of free time to wander.

My teacher used to go to Rome every year for a conference, but had also taken students on this trip multiple times. After all the scheduled events for the day he would tell us where he was going and that we could follow him if we wanted. Otherwise, let him know where we were going and don't go out alone unless it was okayed by him. I usually tagged along, because I knew I would see something cool and learn something. He is easily one of the most knowledgeable people I've met.

I took this photo on one of such occasions of the Ponte Vecchio, the bridge over the river Arno in Florence. My friends and I had plans at one point to explore the markets on the other side, but we could never find the time to dedicate it. Good reason to go back, though I don't need one. The area was supposed to be quieter than the rest of the city, which I was drawn to. Bridges have always felt magical to me. I have more stories about what we saw on the bridge itself, but those are for anther time. What is the coolest bridge you've ever been on?


Adventure on and don't forget to be yourself!

Leah Miller

15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Meelad
Meelad
May 17, 2021

personally, I've never crossed a bridge without standing there, staring at the view around me for a good 15 minutes at least, it's always worth the time for me

Like
bottom of page