top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

Gardens of Ancient Rome

Updated: May 7, 2021

The Roman Forum was one of my favorite places that I went while in Italy because of the sheer scale of things there are to see. You could spend an entire day there and still not have enough time to properly appreciate everything. You could feel something ancient and powerful hanging in the air.

We had a tour guide that led us through key points in the forum, but we also had some time to explore on our own or in small groups, which I was thrilled about.

Gardens overlooking the Roman Forum

One of my favorite places I saw there was the garden on the hill overlooking the forum next to Nero's castle. The first time I went there was in the early summer, so it was warm, and the hedges were a vibrant green and the flowers jumped out among the brown bricks. The area was gated off, but I wanted nothing more than to sit and soak in the atmosphere of that place.

When I went there with my college band and were released on our own, I went immediately back up to that place. This time it was December, so the flowers were not in bloom, but it still preserved a sense of peace that I had missed. There is plenty to talk about regarding the Roman Forum, and I'll tell more of them in future posts, but for now I leave you with the image of the women of Nero's court walking these gardens as they may have over 2000 years ago.

What is your favorite thing in the Roman forum? If you haven't been, what about it would you be most excited about? Comment below. :)

Adventure on, and don't forget to be yourself!

Leah Miller

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page