top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

Looking Forward

Updated: May 7, 2021

Not too long ago I finished my last year in college. I learned a lot both about the world around me and myself, as well as what it's like to forge long lasting friendships. Each year, I grew a little more into my passion. Each year, I decided more and more that I wanted to travel. But there's a problem.

I am really bad with goodbyes.

I have a bit too much sentimentality for my own good. I care deeply about everyone and everything and I get attached easily. Empathy isn't a bad thing, but having too much of it can be painful. I feel like every month I learn another ironic thing about myself. The girl who wants to spend her life traveling the world hates goodbyes. But who likes processing emotion anyway?

I took this photo in Assisi, Italy. It is a beautiful town in the hills of Tuscany watched over by a castle. We were visiting that castle and waiting on people, so I sat on the hill and looked over the town just to think for a while. The world is so...noisy. The older I get, the more I want to escape it. It's something I'll probably talk about a lot.

Taking a moment alone with my thoughts is something I used to avoid. I still do sometimes, but it's important. I learn something new about myself every time I can quiet my environment and just sit without going through everything still on my endless to do list. I have a million hobbies that keep me busy even outside my normal obligations. Moments like this are becoming increasingly difficult to obtain with technology. I have really undergone character growth from someone who needed constant auditory stimulation not to go crazy from my buzzing brain to someone who wants to run away from the noise, if only for a while. I don't want to hear cars grinding by. I don't want to hear music, even my own. I don't want to stare at a screen. I want to lay on the ground and take in the sound.

I have learned to control my emotions better, but I have not learned how to process them. I have spent too much time surrounded by distractions, constantly moving to the next thing leaving no time to look inward--moving to the next thing before I process the fact that I am leaving something behind.

This post is my official declaration to myself to find a balance between not getting so focused on the future that I forget to acknowledge the moment. After all, the present is the past's future.

For now, as I enter into a major new stage of my life, I will focus on looking forward.


Adventure on and don't for get to be yourself!

Leah Miller

59 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Lois Schram
Lois Schram
May 04, 2021

Leah, this says so many thoughts that I have had in the past. I love reading about you and your adventures. Sometimes, even just for a brief moment, I feel like I am with you. It would be such a pleasure to be able to spend some real time together. Congratulations!

Like
Leah Miller
Leah Miller
May 04, 2021
Replying to

I'm really glad you enjoy reading them! Writing them helps me remember the adventures I've had. Helps them feel more real! 😊

Like

Jean Brack Hudson
Jean Brack Hudson
May 04, 2021

Beautifully written Leah! Congratulations on your graduation! (Sorry I never got to a performance--life gets faster and faster it seems!) Hang on to your hat and continue to enjoy what life has to offer! Best wishes--Jean Hudson 💞

Like
bottom of page