top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

Mozzarella with a splash of white wine

Venice was the first city that I visited on my first trip to Italy, and this was my first meal. I don't know what I expected. I'm not much of a pizza person, and I don't eat a lot of heavy pasta and cheese meals. I'm fortunate not to be a picky eater, but some foods sit better in my stomach than others. I was glad that the stereotype wasn't true. Anyone who goes there expecting to see an endless menu of pizza and spaghetti should be pleasantly surprised to see the variety of delicious, high end food they have available.

Although I'm an American girl who doesn't obsess over cheese, this is the meal that made me realize that I love fresh mozzarella. I've been craving it ever since that day. Since the trip I went on was through my college, we had certain meals that were pre-planned, often with multiple courses, of which this was the appetizer of sorts. The cheese was creamy and heavenly, and the bread with tomatoes (and other ingredients I can't remember) was perfect. It had a freshness to it that I just don't usually get in the United States.

I believe that I was 19 when I went on this trip. Since the drinking age is 18 in Italy, we were able to enjoy house wine during the various provided meals. I was the person drinking red wine out of spite not because I like it, but because I had the opportunity to drink wine in a beautiful restaurant in Italy. For the most part, I'm not a fan of red wine and I very much prefer white.

We were all exhausted from the plane ride during dinner, but I think all of us were a bit high on the excitement as we realized where in the world we were. Many of us took photos of most of our meals while there, because they were always carefully plated and served with dignity and pride. In general, everything there felt higher quality, even in the cheaper restaurants friends and I went to on our own.

What are some of your favorite meals you've had while abroad? Did you ever try to recreate one at home? Share your experience in the comments!


Adventure on!

Leah Miller

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page