top of page
Writer's pictureLeah Miller

Simply Coffee

Updated: May 7, 2021

I like my coffee, but I am picky. I seriously don't want to be, but I just don't like the bitterness of it. Eventually I want to train myself to get used to it so I have more options.

It Italy, people would pop into the cafes and order shots of espresso, much to the surprise of many culture shook Americans.

Luckily they had other options, and I discovered my love for Italian cappuccinos. Two sugars. That's one craving I won't be able to satiate for a while. Hopefully I have more coffee stories in the future.

This drink was a cold cappuccino I saw on a menu one day when we all went out to lunch together. I think it was when we were in Rome and coming back from Saint Peter's Square. We had to pay for our own lunch that day, and I thought I could try something new. I don't remember how much it was but I remember thinking it was a bit expensive. That could have been the place though, since it was near a major tourist site.

Money aside...this was a great coffee. I was sad I drank it so fast. It was probably one of the best coffees I've ever had. If/when I go back to Rome, I want to try to find this restaurant again. In Italy, the tip money is built into the bill already, but throwing some coins on the table is a nice thing to do. We had a super nice male waiter who was attentive and charismatic, and when I put coins on the table he kissed me on the hand. I had never had anything like that happen to me (and haven't since) so it stuck in my brain. I just wish I had written the title of the restaurant down. In the future I'm going to try to do that in my travel journal. What is your favorite café story?


Adventure on, and don't forget to be yourself!

Leah Miller






12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page